Content Basics

In this guide we will walk you through the basics of adding, editing, moving, and deleting content in your course. This is meant to be a quick overview. If you are needing detailed instructions regarding specific content, please continue to the specific content-named instructions.

 

Supported Types

Add a variety of content types to make your course more dynamic. Below is a list of different types of content you can add to your lesson:

  • Computer Files (PDFs, slides, and other materials)
  • Google Drive
  • Readings
  • Website Links
  • Videos (Kaltura, Vimeo, YouTube, etc.)
  • Discussions
  • Assignments
  • Webinars
  • Events
  • LTI Tools

SupportedContentTypes.png

Note: Other options are available through our content development team! If you don’t see what you want here, be sure to ask NextThought about other supported content!

 

Add Content

Adding content to your course essentially follows the same few steps with the exception of more extensive tools such as uploading files and building readings and assignments.

To begin adding content to your course:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
    • Note: If you do not see this button, you are not in an Instructor, Editor, or Admin account.
  3. Within the section you want to add content, click “Add Content.”
    addcontentbutton.png
  4. Select the content type, fill out required information, follow prompts, and “Add to Lesson.”
    SupportedContentTypes.png

 

Require Content

Require certain activities in your course to track learner progress and award credit and certificates.

By default, when content is placed in a lesson, it is “optional.” While in Edit Mode, instructors, editors, and assistants can mark certain course materials as “Required” by clicking on the dropdown menu on the content piece itself on the Lessons page. You must be in Edit Mode to view this dropdown menu.

facreq.png 

When a resource is marked as “Required,” a label will appear next to the content on the Lessons page. 

learnrec.png

 

Move Content

You can move content two ways, by using the edit flyout menu or by dragging and dropping them into the desired order.

 

Edit Flyout Menu:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click “Edit” on the content you’d like to move.
    editcontentflyout.png
  4. Use the position dropdown(s) to move from section to section or the placement within a section. 
    moveposition.png

Note: You cannot move content from lesson to lesson. If you’d like to do so, please remove it from the current lesson, and reselect the content from your course resources.

 

Drag and Drop:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click and hold the content piece you’d like to move.
  4. Drag and drop it into a new place.

dragdrop.png

 

Edit Content

You can edit your course content at any time throughout the duration of your course. Assignments may have some limitations depending if learners have already begun taking one.

You can edit:

  • Thumbnail
  • Title
  • Author
  • Description
  • Required Status
  • Platform-created content (readings and assignments)

 

Edit the thumbnail, title, author, and description:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click “Edit” on the content.
    editcontentflyout.png
  4. Edit fields of interest.
    contentflyout.png
  5. Click “Save.”

 

Edit the required status:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Select the required dropdown, and select the new status.

editreq.png 

 

Edit an assignment:

  1. Navigate to the “Assignments” tab.
  2. Select the “Assignments” subtab.
  3. Select “Edit” next the the assignment title.
    editassignment.png
  4. Make needed changes. (Edits will save automatically. See exception below.)

Warning: For assignments which have learner activity, you will be prompted to save as you make edits. Please note that some options may not allow modification after learners have begun. You may be prompted to reset the assignment in order to apply certain changes.

 

Edit a reading:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click on the “Resources” folder in the bottom left-hand corner.
  4. Select “Edit.”
  5. Make needed changes. The edits will save automatically unless the reading is already published, in which case you will need to click the "Publish" button in the bottom right-hand corner. 

editreading.png

publishchanges.png

 

Delete Content

There are two ways to delete content. You can simply remove content from your Lessons page, which will not delete the content from your course resources. Or, you can delete content permanently from your course.

 

Remove Content from Lessons

Removing content from your lesson will not necessarily delete it permanently from your course. All types, with the exception of an external link, will remain in your course resources ready for placement in a lesson even if removed from a lesson.

 

To remove content from your lesson:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Select the “x” button in the upper right-hand corner of the content.
    removecontent.png
  4. Click “OK” in the warning popup.

 

Delete Content from Course

Deleting content from a course is not recoverable.

 

To permanently delete readings and assignments:

  1. Enter reading or assignment editing mode.
  2. Select the publish state button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Select “Delete.”
    deletereading.png
  4. Confirm deletion.

Warning: If an assignment has learner submissions, you will need to first reset the assignment before deletion. You must be an instructor or assistant to do so.

 

To permanently delete files:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click “Add Content” in any section.
  4. Select “Upload a File.”
  5. Select “Choose File.”
  6. Click on the file.
  7. Click “Delete” in the menu above.
    deletefile.png
  8. Confirm deletion.

 

To permanently delete videos:

  1. Navigate to the “Lessons” tab.
  2. Click on the “Start Editing” button in the bottom right-hand corner.
  3. Click “Add Content” in any section.
  4. Select “Video” in resource selector.
  5. Hover over the video and select “Edit.”
  6. Scroll down and select “Delete.”
    deletevideo.png
  7. Confirm deletion.
  8. Cancel out of the resources selector.

 

To permanently delete discussions:

  1. Navigate to the “Discussions” tab.
  2. Select and open the discussion.
  3. Click “Delete.”
    deletediscussion.png
  4. Confirm deletion.

 

To permanently delete links, simply remove link from your Lesson’s page. 

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful