How do I create, edit, and remove my notes?

How can I create and share a note?

To create a note while in a course reading, video, or other piece of content, highlight a selection of text by dragging your cursor over the desired passage. A toolbar will appear with three colored highlight options and the add note icon. Click on the note icon to create a note. Additionally, you may also hover your mouse in the margin to the right of the text and click on the note icon that appears. You can create notes in readings, the Media Viewer next to video transcripts, and other types of content.

While creating your note, there are three sections to fill in: “Add a Title,” the users you are sharing the note with, and “Start a Discussion.” By default, notes are typically shared with all people in your course. To change who your note is shared with, begin by typing the "@" sign followed by the name of the users, list, or group’s name in the "Start a Discussion" field and click on them to share. To remove a person, group, or list, hover over their name in the sharing field, and an “x” will appear. Click the x to remove the mention and make sure to also remove their hyperlinked name in the "Start a Discussion" portion of the note. If no one is listed in the sharing field, the note will be private and only you can access it. Add a title or simply just a message to your note. You may also click the various icons to add images, links to videos, upload files, or even create a whiteboard. Click “Post” to save and post your note.

 

Can everyone see the note I just made?

You control who is able to see your note. By default, notes are shared with all people in your course. To change who your note is shared with, begin by typing the "@" sign followed by the name of the users, list, or group’s name in the "Start a Discussion" field and click on them to share. To remove a person, group, or list, hover over their name in the sharing field, and an “x” will appear. Click the x to remove the mention and make sure to also remove their hyperlinked name in the "Start a Discussion" portion of the note. If no one is listed in the sharing field, the note will be private and only you can access it.

 

How can I change who my note is shared with?

If no one has yet commented on your note, you are able to change the sharing preferences. To open your posted note, click on the note in the discussion panel to the right of your reading, video, or other piece of content. Now, select the three dot menu in the upper corner of your note and click "Edit." Hover your mouse over the contact or group you’d like to remove and click the “x.” To add a contact or group, begin by typing the "@" sign followed by the name of the users, list, or group’s name in the "Start a Discussion" field and click on them to share. Click the “Update” button once you have the correct contacts or groups in which you’d like to share your note with. Your new sharing preferences will be saved to your note, and any contact or group removed will no longer have access to the note.

 

How do I delete a note or comment I created?

First, click on your note in the discussion panel to the right of the reading to open your note. While viewing your note, select the three dot menu in the upper corner of your note and click "Delete." Your note will now be deleted and no longer accessible. Please be aware that if there are comments on your note, the comments will remain although your specific note will have been deleted.

To delete a comment on a note, repeat the same steps. You will find a separate option menu on the specific comment itself.

Was this article helpful?
0 out of 0 found this helpful